LOLMDS: Pierce Charges From 14th To Win Silver Show-Me 100

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Lucas Oil Late Models Leave a Comment

Bobby Pierce celebrates in victory lane after winning Sunday night’s Show-Me 100 at Lucas Oil Speedway. (LOLMDS photo)

WHEATLAND, Mo. — Bobby Pierce came from the 14th starting spot on Sunday night to win the silver anniversary 25th annual Lucas Oil Show-Me 100 presented by Protect the at Lucas Oil Speedway.

Pierce took the lead from Earl Pearson Jr. on lap 87 and pulled away for his third crown-jewel victory in less than a year.

The 20-year-old became the 12th different driver to win the Show-Me 100, a race his father Bob finished in the top-five in on four different occasions.

Pearson led 86 of the 100 laps, but ultimately finished second in the Carlton and Kemp Lamm-owned Longhorn Chassis Ford Tim McCreadie took third in the Sweeteners Plus Pro Power Longhorn.

Scott Bloomquist, the only five-time winner of the annual Memorial Day Weekend event, finished in fourth ahead of 2015 winner Jonathan Davenport, who came from 30th to complete the top five.

“Last year we started 29th and got up to the front and had the lead under caution when we suffered a flat tire,” Pierce said. “So yes, this feels like redemption from last year’s disappointment. We started 14th tonight, but it was a lot harder, once you get up there with those guys it got a little tougher.”

“The track would make the car bounce like a basketball,” Pierce added. “I know they were trying to make it a good track, and it did make for some good racing, so hats off to the track crew. I know they were wanting a good show for television. It was a heck of a race. Congrats to Earl on second and T-Mac for third. I am sorry I got into him [McCreadie] there at one point.”

Pearson was seeking his first Show-Me 100 victory.

“The track started out smooth and we had a good car all night; we got the lead from Tim [McCreadie],” Pearson explained. “It got a little choppy on the cushion and it was Bobby’s kind of track. We held him off for nearly 90 laps. It was a good run for the Lucas Oil Racing TV car. We have been running strong. The fans saw one heck of a show this weekend.”

McCreadie recorded yet another top five, finishing third after starting from the pole.

“We struggled in the holes tonight just like we did last year,” McCreadie said. “We set up for the track like it had been the last two nights. Hats off to my guys. The Longhorn crew is working hard to get us to victory lane. It’s all about winning races. If you win races your chances of winning a championship are better against this caliber of drivers.”


RESULTS: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series; 25th Show-Me 100; Lucas Oil Speedway; May 28, 2017

Feature (100 laps): 1. Bobby Pierce, 2. Earl Pearson Jr., 3. Tim McCreadie, 4. Scott Bloomquist, 5. Jonathan Davenport, 6. Gregg Satterlee, 7. Dennis Erb Jr., 8. Jared Landers, 9. Josh Richards, 10. Shannon Babb, 11. Tony Jackson Jr., 12. Logan Martin, 13. Boom Briggs, 14. Jack Sullivan, 15. Don O’Neal, 16. Chase Junghans, 17. Steve Francis, 18. Hudson O’Neal, 19. Jimmy Owens, 20. Billy Moyer, 21. Dave Eckrich, 22. Rodney Sanders, 23. Billy Moyer Jr., 24. Mason Zeigler, 25. Mike Marlar, 26. Jake O’Neil, 27. Chris Simpson, 28. Darrell Lanigan, 29. Jesse Stovall, 30. Payton Looney.

CREDIT: Lucas Communications

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *