MIDWEST: Overton & Bloomquist Split Twin 25s On Dream Thursday

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Other Dirt Late Models Leave a Comment

Scott Bloomquist in victory lane after winning Thursday’s second feature at Eldora Speedway. (Jim Denhamer photo)

Defending World 100 winner Bobby Pierce jumped to the early lead in the second feature, before 1997 Dream winner Jimmy Mars flexed some muscle to wrestle the top spot away.

Pierce and Mars continued to fight for the top spot, but as they did Bloomquist, a six-time Dream winner, closed in.

On lap eight, Bloomquist passed Pierce for second-place, and then a lap later, he made a move around Mars for the top spot and powered away over the final 15 laps to a convincing victory.

“This is a fairly new car that we have only ran twice,” Bloomquist said. “Randy Sweet’s bunch built this one and we have some fresh metal under us here that seems to be working pretty good.”

It was a bit of redemption for Bloomquist for struggled a year ago on Thursday of the Dream weekend and then failed to make the main event on Saturday night.

“We’ve been trying to get our stuff organized and together and get some equipment built ahead and things are going a little bit better for us,” Bloomquist said. “It’s easy to get behind when you don’t have a lot of help. I’ve got some volunteer help here this weekend and I really need to thank them. We are looking forward to tomorrow and the next day.”

Chris Madden rallied from eighth starting position to finish runner-up in the second feature, while Mars held on for third place. Two-time Dream winner Billy Moyer finished fourth with Dennis Erb Jr. fifth.

“We got behind on the first start,” Madden said. “Scott was able to get by four or five cars down there and I wasn’t able to clear them and then I had to clear them during the race and try to run (Bloomquist) back down. We had an excellent car tonight and I just need to thank all my guys.”

“We didn’t really adjust the car much all night and maybe we should have,” Mars said. “We will take the third and move on to tomorrow night.”

Casey Roberts (15.925 seconds) was the fastest qualifier of the 79 entrants.

Full race results can be viewed on the next page…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *