AUDIO/RECAP: Madhouse Master; Bohn Claims Second Straight Southern Tour Win at Bowman Gray

RaceChaser Staff Asphalt Modifieds, Audio, Featured, Southeast, Touring Series Leave a Comment

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – official series release by Jason Cunningham, NASCAR — Audio courtesy NASCAR Media — Getty Images for NASCAR photo —

The first names that come to mind when referring to modified racing at Bowman Gray Stadium are usually Brown, Miller and Myers.

Danny Bohn is doing his best to get in the conversation.

Bohn, from Freehold, N.J., captured the checkered flag in the 199 Saturday night in NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour action. It was his second win in a row in the event.

Bohn also earned the 2014 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series track championship at the Bowman Gray quarter-mile in 2014 out of the weekly modified division – a division won so many times by Tim Brown, Junior Miller and Burt Myers.

Bohn gained the lead from George Brunnhoelzl III for the final time on Lap 155 and held on through three restarts. Polesitter Ryan Preece rallied from a flat tire early in the event to cross the finish line second while Jeremy Gerstner grabbed his first career podium in third place.

Myers, Bobby Measmer Jr., Andy Seuss, Joe Ryan Osborne, Kyle Ebersole, JR Bertuccio and Jason Myers rounded out the top 10.

Mid-race leader Brunnhoelzl finished 15th after contact with the wall while running fourth brought out the final caution of the night.

The Whelen Southern Modified Tour has held one event a year at Bowman Gray since 2005. Bohn joined L.W. Miller (2010-11) as just the second driver to earn back-to-back victories at the famed flat oval. It was his fourth southern tour win overall.

The 199 will be telecast by NBCSN on Aug. 7 at 2:30 p.m. ET.

The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour will return to action with the Bush’s Beans 150 combination race with the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour on Aug. 19 at Bristol (Tenn.) Motor Speedway.


Audio with race winner Danny Bohn:

Audio with runner-up Ryan Preece:

Audio with third-place Jeremy Gerstner:


RESULTS: NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour; 199; Bowman Gray Stadium; August 1, 2015

  1. Danny Bohn
  2. Ryan Preece
  3. Jeremy Gerstner
  4. Burt Myers
  5. Bobby Measmer, Jr.
  6. Andy Seuss
  7. Joe Ryan Osborne
  8. Kyle Ebersole
  9. JR Bertuccio
  10. Jason Myers
  11. Gary Putnam
  12. Frank Fleming
  13. Mike Norman
  14. Trey Hutchens III
  15. George Brunnhoelzl III
  16. A.J. Winstead
  17. John Smith
  18. Tom Abele Jr.
  19. David Calabrese
  20. Eric Goodale
  21. Paul Hartwig Jr.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *