NSL: Two is Better Than One; Lasoski Becomes First Repeat Winner in National Sprint League

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Midwest, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets Leave a Comment

FARMINGTON, Mo. – official series release — NSL photo —

Fortune smiled a bit Danny Lasoski Thursday night at St. Francois County Raceway.

After shattering the track record in time trials, it looked like he may not get out of his heat race until Bryan Clauson spun, giving him the final transfer spot.  Jerrod Hull broke a Jacob’s ladder while leading the feature when he tagged a spun lapped car.  Nonetheless, Lasoski did what he had to do in putting himself in position to become the first repeat FVP National Sprint League winner this season.

Forty-one cars assembled at the unique bullring, with a good mix of regulars and NSL competitors.  The local contingent were hoping for a victory, and it seemed an even match until the very end.  Two locals won heat races (Joey Boyd and Tommy Worley Jr.) and two NSL drivers (Paul Nienhiser and Tim Kaeding) did the same.  Four of each made the top eight redraw as well.

Lasoski started the night by shattering the track record with a lap of 10.794 seconds (the old mark was set last September by Jason Keith at 11.097 seconds). Tasker Phillips flipped in qualifying, but made it back out for his heat.  Brad Loyet and Jerrod Hull, who was fortunate in his own right to make it through his heat after spinning, comprised the front row of the feature after the redraw.

Hull shot to the lead in the 30-lap main event immediately, ahead of Joe B. Miller and Lasoski.  Two laps in, a four-car melee involving Lynton Jeffrey, Kent Buckley, Joey Montgomery and Ryan Kempin slowed things.  Hull led Miller, Lasoski, Loyet and Worley back to green flag racing.

Four laps were in the books when Terry McCarl spun in turn three, and three more laps were complete when Ryan Kempin spun.  Hull, who had pulled away from the field on each occasion was in the wrong place at the wrong time, and hammered Kempin with his right rear.  The contact broke his Jacob’s ladder and bent his right rear wheel.  Nonetheless, he shot out again.

Hull’s issues were evident when he reached lapped traffic, however.  Lasoski pounced after Miller exited with steering issues, taking the lead on lap 18.  Lasoski led Hull, Loyet and a charging Clauson and Mark Dobmeier in a group of cars that could have had a blanket thrown over them.

Unfortunately, trouble found Dobmeier, who came to a stop on lap 22.  Clauson too, had to visit the work area.  The restart with eight laps left saw Lasoski leading Hull, Loyet, Worley and Ian Madsen.  Lasoski would pull away for the $3,000 payday, while Hull held onto second.

Loyet was third, ahead of Worley and Madsen.

Bill Balog, Jimmy Hurley, Brian Brown, Kaeding and Terry McCarl rounded out the top ten.

Dusty Zomer won the B-Main, while Austin McCarl took a tumble in the 14-lap event. He was uninjured. Kempin also turned over after finishing fourth in the B. He made repairs and started the feature.

The FVP National Sprint League goes north from Farmington to complete their March through Missouri at the Randolph County Raceway near Moberly on Friday night, May 29.


RESULTS: FVP National Sprint League; Saint Francois County Raceway; M

A-Main (started), 30 Laps: 1. 2, Danny Lasoski, Dover, MO [4]; 2. 12H, Jerrod Hull, Sikeston, MO [2]; 3. o5, Brad Loyet, Sunset Hills, MO [1]; 4. 97, Tommy Worley Jr., Farmington, MO [5]; 5. 18, Ian Madsen, St. Mary’s, NSW, Aust. [8]; 6. 17B, Bill Balog, Brookfield, WI [12]; 7. 35H, Jimmy Hurley, Springfield, IL [15]; 8. 21, Brian Brown, Grain Valley, MO [14]; 9. 3, Tim Kaeding, San Jose, CA [16]; 10. 24, Terry McCarl, Altoona, IA [6]; 11. 9, Paul Nienhiser, Chapin, IL [21]; 12. 2B, A.J. Bruns, Athens, IL [7]; 13. 13, Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, ND [11]; 14. 82, Dusty Zomer, Sioux Falls, SD [10]; 15. 55, Brooke Tatnell, Sans Souci, NSW, Aust. [23]; 16. 17w, Bryan Clauson, Noblesville, IN [9]; 17. 56, Davey Heskin, St. Michael, MN [20]; 18. 09, Matt Juhl, Sioux Falls, SD [22]; 19. 67, Joey Boyd, Farmington, MO [18]; 20. 51B, Joe B. Miller, Millersville, MO [3]; 21. 87, Kent Buckley, Farmington, MO [19]; 22. 2K, Ryan Kempin, House Springs, MO [24]; 23. 12, Lynton Jeffrey, Prairie City, IA [17]; 24. 32, Joey Montgomery, Fredericktown, MO [13].

Lap Leaders: Hull 1-17, Lasoski 18-30.

KSE Hard Charger: Paul Nienhiser (+12)

CREDIT: FVP National Sprint League

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *