MIDWEST: Seven Winners Crowned in Memorial Day Slate at Macon Speedway

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Midwest Leave a Comment

MACON, Ill. — official track release —

Macon Speedway continued its annual tradition of racing on Memorial Day on Monday night, with seven winners crowned and adventure, excitement and frustration being the order of the night.

Tim Hancock went four-for-four in feature wins in the B-Modified division at Macon. By winning his heat race and starting on the pole for the 15-lap feature, Hancock made short work of the race and cruised to the checkered flag.

Following the race, he gave his Macon Speedway Feature Winner trophy to a child for the fourth consecutive event.

The Beach House Micro Sprint feature race had a little drama, with Belleville’s Tyler Vantoll and Weldon’s Garrett Duff staying close through the early goings, but Vantoll kept the motor going strong and finished with the checkered flag.

Unfortunately, the opportunity to double up by winning the Division 2 Midget feature was taken from Vantoll on the second turn of the final lap, when his engine gave up and he fell to third behind Mitchell Davis. Davis, a first-time feature at Macon Speedway, knew the importance of racing every lap and every turn, as he was positioned for a second-place finish but found the winner’s circle thanks to a little luck.

Terry Reed found the winning groove once again and took the Street Stock main event win. The race was close, as Reed stayed on the bottom and second-place competitor Nick Macklin rode the top side, but Macklin just couldn’t make the final pass for the finish.

In the Billingsley Towing Modifieds, Dave Crawley, Jr. stayed glued to the bottom of the track and led a train of cars – including Macon Speedway co-owners Ken Schrader and Kenny Wallace – to the finish line.

Schrader and Wallace finished second and third, respectively. Wallace tried a few top side moves but couldn’t get enough going to make a move for the top spot.

Crawley had a good run going for himself in the Pro Late Model event, starting from the pole position by virtue of the frisbee draw, and was leading for the first six laps before disaster found his car and smoke poured from the engine. The motor blew and he was forced to the infield.

With five laps to go, Nick Bauman found the lead ahead of Roben Huffman and Matt Taylor, who were slowed by a lapped car.

Along with Bauman’s amazing pass of Bauman for the lead, the crowd was thrilled by both Jake Little and Jose Parga. Little drove his Pro Late Model up the wall in turn four and came back down with his foot still on the gas and kept moving. Parga did the same in both turns one and two and also managed to keep his vehicle on the move, with both drivers soldiering on to top five finishes.

Hornets division points leader Tony Reed found his way to victory lane with a narrow win over first-time starter Dallas Lugge. Saturday’s feature winner and tenth-place starter Michael Gossett finished in third.

CREDIT: Macon Speedway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *